transmission: felicity allen

“I say, when sitters sit for me I look at them as if they’re perfect, as if I’ve found them after losing them.”

On “creating a dis-oeuvre”:

– when I asked her to explain this term she referenced the construction of an artist’s (e.g. Picasso’s) work over their life into a linear, coherent narrative. the term “dis-oeuvre” therefore signifies a rejection; a desire to de-narrativise one’s work; to suggest that an artist’s body of work may be fragmentary, piecemeal, may leap about instead of accruing rationally; that one person may be many artists; to reclaim the work from an accruing mythology.

Mary Kelly, Post-partum document (1973-79, detail)

– if “multiple voices [in the work (mother, child, artist, psychoanalyst, etc.)] suggest [the] plural identities” of the woman, does the fragmentary voice in my own work therefore suggest (as hoped) an incomplete identity?

